The Courseload and The Rewrites (based on The Stag and The Lion)

“I am saved from the power of the dogs only to fall into the clutches of a lion”  -Aesop’s Fables

Once upon a time, not too long ago, I was as undergrad groaning under a ton of coursework. Too many classes, not enough hours, and too little sleep was my popular rant. I remember staring out my dorm room and seeing my classrooms. It brought my work too close to home.

Vowing an idiotic 19-year-old’s vow, I promised to find a profession that I could leave at the office.

I would never bring work home.

Now, I’m a writer, volunteering all my free time and some of my not so free time to work on my craft.

My work is at home.

My work continues as I dream.

It follows me everywhere.

However, unlike the Stag, I’m far from unhappy.

Out of the frying pan into the fire…by choice! (Go figure)

Leave a Reply

